An Exhausting Day!

This morning I was a mess. Being the procrastinator that I am, I didn’t pack until 3AM (mistake!)   But I knew I didn’t have to do much, I had everything sprawled on my floor. All I had to do was put it in the bag. How hard could that be? HARD. It was a struggle just … Continue reading An Exhausting Day!

Healing Camp Day 3

To start the day, we worked with our group – Wambli (older boys from the children’s camp) – on a variety of fun and educational activities. We began with outdoor teambuilding exercises and were able to watch trust develop within the group as some boys took on leadership roles, and the group worked cohesively to … Continue reading Healing Camp Day 3

A Day of Anticipation

The anticipation for the second day of the trauma camp was high. Volunteers were eager to begin working with the children and building connections through skills and activities. As a team leader for children ages 7-9, I recognized the anticipation of the children to be involved in activities to be equally as high. My co-leader … Continue reading A Day of Anticipation

A Beginning

By Julie Yang (Health Science Academy)   Today was the beginning of our long awaited trip to Pine Ridge. It all started this morning at about five a.m. when I woke up and got ready. Since then, time has gone by quickly and it was six a.m. when all the students arrived and loaded their … Continue reading A Beginning